The Solemn Declaration of 1893

To download or view this page as a PDF file – Click Here

The Solemn Declaration of 1893

This statement established the Anglican Church of Canada’s independence from the
Church of England while still preserving bonds of communion.

In the Name of the Father, and of the Son, and of the Holy Ghost. Amen.

We, the Bishops, together with the Delegates from the Clergy and Laity of
the Church of England in the Dominion of Canada, now assembled in the
first General Synod, hereby make the following Solemn Declaration:

We declare this Church to be, and desire that it shall continue, in full
communion with the Church of England throughout the world, as an integral
portion of the One Body of Christ composed of Churches which, united
under the One Divine Head and in the fellowship of the One Holy Catholic
and Apostolic Church, hold the One Faith revealed in Holy Writ, and
defined in the Creeds as maintained by the undivided primitive Church in
the undisputed Ecumenical Councils; receive the same Canonical
Scriptures of the Old and New Testaments, as containing all things
necessary to salvation; teach the same Word of God; partake of the same
Divinely ordained Sacraments, through the ministry of the same Apostolic
Orders; and worship One God and Father through the same Lord Jesus
Christ, by the same Holy and Divine Spirit who is given to them that believe
to guide them into all truth.

And we are determined by the help of God to hold and maintain the
Doctrine, Sacraments, and Discipline of Christ as the Lord hath
commanded in his Holy Word, and as the Church of England hath received
and set forth the same in ‘The Book of Common Prayer and Administration
of the Sacraments and other Rites and Ceremonies of the Church,
according to the use of the Church of England; together with the Psalter or
Psalms of David, pointed as they are to be sung or said in Churches; and
the Form and Manner of Making, Ordaining, and Consecrating of Bishops,
Priests, and Deacons’; and in the Thirty-nine Articles of Religion; and to
transmit the same unimpaired to our posterity.

Hello and welcome! We would be delighted to have you join with us and experience the presence of God and the joy of this church family as we celebrate, worship and serve together. We are an Anglican parish, part of the Diocese of Huron, The Anglican Church of Canada, and the world-wide Anglican Communion of some 80 million people. As Anglicans, we are very proud of our long tradition of tolerance of diversity, vibrant worship, outreach into the community, and commitment to higher learning.

Together we strive to be a welcoming, loving, and caring community, willing to live and share our Christian faith and worship with all who enter. If you are looking for a faith community to call home, please consider this my personal invitation to experience the life and faith of this parish.



Anglican services were conducted twice a month in Waterloo by Rev. E.W. Murray from St. John’s Anglican Church, Berlin, as early as 1876. These services were held in St. John’s Lutheran Church on King Street North in Waterloo; a Sunday School was begun about the same time. A decision was made at a meeting of Waterloo Anglicans on January 17, 1895 to begin regular Sunday services, and the first of these services was conducted on January 27th by Rev. Frederick J. Steen of Berlin. The present church, known then as St. Saviour, was built in the Fall of 1897 and was officially opened on January 10, 1898 by Bishop Baldwin of the Diocese of Huron. At that time the church was still a mission of St. John’s in Berlin. This arrangement continued until the arrival of the congregation’s first resident rector, Rev. R.A. Armstrong, in June 1901.

A rectory was purchased in 1910 at the corner of Allen and Mary Streets, and in 1912-1913 the Parish Hall was built through the generosity of Joseph E. Seagram. On October 26, 1919 the church, with the present name of Church of the Holy Saviour, was consecrated by Bishop David Williams. The chancel was rebuilt and new pews were installed in 1926-1928. The richly decorated interior of the church, in carved oak, was executed in stages in the years 1926-1928 and 1935-1937, memorial gifts of the Seagram family and others. Of particular interest are the “Last Supper” above the altar, the chancel and narthex screens, the pulpit and lecturn, all worked by craftsmen of the Globe Furniture Company of Waterloo. The years 1935-1937 also saw the erection of the tower. An addition to the Parish Hall was built in 1954.

(from the City of Waterloo website.)