Pastoral Team

The Rev’d Dr. Greg Jenkins, Rector 

Bishop Townshend appointed The Reverend Dr. Greg Jenkins as the rector of the Church of the Holy Saviour, effective August 1st. Greg was ordained and served in the Diocese of Huron before moving to the Diocese of New Westminster (Burnaby). He was the Archdeacon for Waterloo Deanery and rector of Trinity, Cambridge. Most recently, he was the Rector of St. Alban’s in Burnaby. We are happy Greg is coming back to Huron, and excited that our church will be his home

The Ven. Dr. Neil Carver

The Ven. Dr. Neil Carver, Honorary Assistant

Archdeacon Carver provides a ministry of support and dialogue with those whose former religious assumptions no longer resonate with life’s ambiguities and contemporary understandings of existence. He advocates religious literacy, progressive theological thought, and the integration of spirituality and social justice. Neil and Claudia recently celebrated fifty years of marriage. They enjoy playing bridge, hiking the countryside, and spending time with the families of their four adult children and six grandchildren.

The Venerable Peter T. Townshend

The Ven. Peter Townshend, Honorary Assistant

Peter was born and grew up in London Ontario. He was ordained in 1980 the same year that he and Jane were married.Together they have served the Lord and God’s people in five communities throughout the Diocese of Huron. In 2003 he was appointed as the Rector of the Church of the Holy Saviour and then in 2004 as Archdeacon of Waterloo, serving in both capacities until his retirement in 2016. Peter and Jane now appreciate the freedom of time to support and enjoy the families of their four children which now includes nine grandchildren. Peter is very happy to offer a supportive ministry to assist Victor and the parish of Holy Saviour whenever requested.

Hello and welcome! We would be delighted to have you join with us and experience the presence of God and the joy of this church family as we celebrate, worship and serve together. We are an Anglican parish, part of the Diocese of Huron, The Anglican Church of Canada, and the world-wide Anglican Communion of some 80 million people. As Anglicans, we are very proud of our long tradition of tolerance of diversity, vibrant worship, outreach into the community, and commitment to higher learning.

Together we strive to be a welcoming, loving, and caring community, willing to live and share our Christian faith and worship with all who enter. If you are looking for a faith community to call home, please consider this my personal invitation to experience the life and faith of this parish.



Anglican services were conducted twice a month in Waterloo by Rev. E.W. Murray from St. John’s Anglican Church, Berlin, as early as 1876. These services were held in St. John’s Lutheran Church on King Street North in Waterloo; a Sunday School was begun about the same time. A decision was made at a meeting of Waterloo Anglicans on January 17, 1895 to begin regular Sunday services, and the first of these services was conducted on January 27th by Rev. Frederick J. Steen of Berlin. The present church, known then as St. Saviour, was built in the Fall of 1897 and was officially opened on January 10, 1898 by Bishop Baldwin of the Diocese of Huron. At that time the church was still a mission of St. John’s in Berlin. This arrangement continued until the arrival of the congregation’s first resident rector, Rev. R.A. Armstrong, in June 1901.

A rectory was purchased in 1910 at the corner of Allen and Mary Streets, and in 1912-1913 the Parish Hall was built through the generosity of Joseph E. Seagram. On October 26, 1919 the church, with the present name of Church of the Holy Saviour, was consecrated by Bishop David Williams. The chancel was rebuilt and new pews were installed in 1926-1928. The richly decorated interior of the church, in carved oak, was executed in stages in the years 1926-1928 and 1935-1937, memorial gifts of the Seagram family and others. Of particular interest are the “Last Supper” above the altar, the chancel and narthex screens, the pulpit and lecturn, all worked by craftsmen of the Globe Furniture Company of Waterloo. The years 1935-1937 also saw the erection of the tower. An addition to the Parish Hall was built in 1954.

(from the City of Waterloo website.)