Hello and welcome! We would be delighted to have you join with us and experience the presence of God and the joy of this church family as we celebrate, worship and serve together. We are an Anglican parish, part of the Diocese of Huron, The Anglican Church of Canada, and the world-wide Anglican Communion of some 80 million people. As Anglicans, we are very proud of our long tradition of tolerance of diversity, vibrant worship, outreach into the community, and commitment to higher learning.
Together we strive to be a welcoming, loving, and caring community, willing to live and share our Christian faith and worship with all who enter. If you are looking for a faith community to call home, please consider this my personal invitation to experience the life and faith of this parish.
OUR HISTORY DATES FROM 1876, AND OUR CHURCH BUILDING FROM 1898 – 125 YEARS AGO!
Anglican services were conducted twice a month in Waterloo by Rev. E.W. Murray from St. John’s Anglican Church, Berlin, as early as 1876. These services were held in St. John’s Lutheran Church on King Street North in Waterloo; a Sunday School was begun about the same time. A decision was made at a meeting of Waterloo Anglicans on January 17, 1895 to begin regular Sunday services, and the first of these services was conducted on January 27th by Rev. Frederick J. Steen of Berlin. The present church, known then as St. Saviour, was built in the Fall of 1897 and was officially opened on January 10, 1898 by Bishop Baldwin of the Diocese of Huron. At that time the church was still a mission of St. John’s in Berlin. This arrangement continued until the arrival of the congregation’s first resident rector, Rev. R.A. Armstrong, in June 1901.
A rectory was purchased in 1910 at the corner of Allen and Mary Streets, and in 1912-1913 the Parish Hall was built through the generosity of Joseph E. Seagram. On October 26, 1919 the church, with the present name of Church of the Holy Saviour, was consecrated by Bishop David Williams. The chancel was rebuilt and new pews were installed in 1926-1928. The richly decorated interior of the church, in carved oak, was executed in stages in the years 1926-1928 and 1935-1937, memorial gifts of the Seagram family and others. Of particular interest are the “Last Supper” above the altar, the chancel and narthex screens, the pulpit and lecturn, all worked by craftsmen of the Globe Furniture Company of Waterloo. The years 1935-1937 also saw the erection of the tower. An addition to the Parish Hall was built in 1954.
(from the City of Waterloo website.)